September 17, 2019: Air Namibia has appointed Escher Luanda as the chairperson of Air Namibia board of directors recently.

On September 5, Air Namibia has announced the resignations of the chairperson Dee Sauls- Deckenbrock and vice-chairperson Nangula Kauluma from its board of directors.

Luanda is a seasoned governance and ethics practitioner. He holds a B.Juris as well as an LLB degree, a postgraduate diploma in compliance and a Master's degree in business leadership.

He is an admitted legal practitioner of the High Court of Namibia. He leads the governance and ethics division at the Government Institutions Pension Fund (GIPF), where he is a member of the executive leadership team.

Xavier Masule, Air Namibia's interim chief executive officer, said, "Air Namibia management and staff look forward to continuing working with you during your tenure to elevate our national airline to greater heights. Your diverse knowledge, leadership, and commitment to excellent service delivery are our guiding force, as we carry the Namibian spirit locally and internationally."

The board resolved that a vice-chairperson will be appointed when the new board members are appointed.

The remaining Air Namibia board of directors are Heritha Muyoba, Willy Mertens and Alois Nyandoro.

Read Full Article