December 07, 2020: Cameroon has become the 33rd country to formally ratify the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) agreement as reported by Freight News.

Lesotho and Tunisia submitted their own instruments on November 27, leaving only 21 countries to ratify the treaty. They are Benin, Botswana, Burundi, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Morocco, Mozambique, Nigeria, Seychelles, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania and Zambia.

The AfCFTA will come into force on January 1 after the original July 1 launch was postponed due to Covid.

Eritrea is the only country that has yet to make any commitment to the continental body.

Read Full Article