August 25, 2021: Kenya, Ecuador, Malaysia, and Paraguay have become the latest entrants to join World Logistics Passport (WLP). The countries were welcomed at its inaugural Global Summit along with Ethiopia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Burkina Faso, and Guinea, who joined in June.

These ten new countries bring total number represented in the WLP network to 23. South African Association of Freight Forwarders (SAAFF) and India’s Delhi International Airport also join as partners providing benefits from traders from across the WLP network.

The decision of the Kenyan International Freight and Warehousing Association (KIFWA) to join the WLP as the first partner in Kenya lays the foundations for the launch of Kenya as a hub for East Africa. With improving infrastructure networks and close trade ties across East and Central Africa, Kenya is well placed to support the engagement of companies across the region; and the WLP continues to work with other potential partners in Kenya as well as freight forwarder associations and chambers of commerce in neighbouring countries to bring them into the network.

With SAAFF as a partner, it will help to expedite the full operationalisation of South Africa as a hub country through the SAAFF’s ability to mobilise leading South African freight forwarders and logistics companies to join as members.

With these new entrants to the programme, African and global traders will have easier east-west access to trade routes, while also capitalizing on key trading centers across Southern and Eastern Africa.

As the world’s first global freight loyalty scheme, WLP offers members access to three tiers of benefits – silver, gold and platinum – provided by a range of WLP partners including airport authorities, port operators, customs services and others that help to make supply chains more efficient. Once the WLP is fully operational in a country, members of the WLP, including traders and freight forwarders, can anticipate an annual increase in trade on average of up to 5 - 10 percent. The WLP is free to join and open to all countries that meet the entry requirements.

Read Full Article