July 20, 2020: In addition to 11 airports operating in South Africa, three domestic airports in South Africa - East London Airport, Kimberley Airport, and George Airport have met all the requirements and will resume operations on July 21.

The announcement was made by South Africa’s minister of transport Fikile Mbalula.

All international passenger flights in South Africa remain prohibited except those flights authorised by the minister of transport. Domestic passenger air travel remains not permitted for recreational, leisure or tourism purposes.

Airports Company South Africa has reopened Bram Fischer International, Port Elizabeth International, and Upington International Airports from July 1.

Currently, the 11 airports operating in South Africa are O.R. Tambo International Airport (Johannesburg), King Shaka International Airport (Durban), Cape Town International Airport (Cape Town), Lanseria International Airport (Johannesburg), Bram Fischer International Airport (Bloemfontein), Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport (Nelspruit), Pietermaritzburg Airport (Pietermaritzburg), Port Elizabeth International Airport (Port Elizabeth), Richards Bay Airport (RCB) in Richards Bay, Skukuza Airport (Kruger National Park), and Upington Airport (Upington).

Read Full Article