October 26, 2017: The South African Finance Minister Malusi Gigaba has recently announced the appointment of new members to the South African Airways (SAA) Board.

According to newspaper reports, the new board chairperson Johannes Bhekumuzi Magwaza will replace Dudu Miyeni. The other five new board members are deputy chairperson and non-executive director Nolitha Fakude; Geoff Rothschild, Ahmed Bassa, Tinyiko Mhlari, and Martin Kingston. They will serve as non-executive directors.

In addition to the newly announced members, some of the non-executive directors will continue to serve on the board. They are Bajabulile Swazi Tshabalala, Peter Tshisevhe, Thandeka Nozipho Mogoduso, Peter Holmes Maluleka, and Akhter Hoosen Moosa.

The new SAA board members will take charge from November 3, 2017, after their scheduled meeting with the Minister Gigaba.

Along with the current chairperson, the other board members who will leave the board are Tryphosa Ramano, Mzimkulu Malunga, Siphile Buthelezi, Nazmeera Moola and Gugu Sepamla.

Minister Gigaba is hopeful that the new board, which was approved by Cabinet along with the new CEO Vuyani Jarana – will be able to implement the airline’s structural strategy. SAA which was facing financial issues has been given an infusion of R3 billion recently. The Minister is also hopeful that the new CEO and team would bring SAA to financial stability in due course.

Jarana, who was appointed to the top post in August, will commence his duties at the airline on November 1.

“The new board is well experienced and diverse, and the Minister encourages them to ignore the political noise, and focus on the business of strengthening SAA. At the heart of these appointments is a commitment from the South African government to strengthen the airline, and create conditions to see the transformation of all our state-owned companies,” said the Finance Ministry.

The ministry said the new board brings talent, expertise and energy to the airline.

Read Full Article